Your Employee and Health Care Professional Advocates
Attorneys Serving You For More Than 35 years

How often does my boss have to pay me?

Minnesota has traditionally had fairly strong wage and hour laws when compared to some other states. For instance, they specifically mandate how often an employee must be paid and how those payments may be made.

Under present state laws, employees must be paid at least every 31 days (or once per month). Of course, your employer is free to pay you more frequently than that. Some companies pay their employees each week, although bi-weekly payments are perhaps the most common.

With that being said, there are some companies supplying day labor that pay their workers for the day’s work at the end of each shift.

Payments to employees can be made in the form of paychecks, cash, direct deposits to bank or card accounts or via debit cards. When the employer opts to make payments in another method besides a paycheck or cash, the employee must provide consent in advance.

Sometimes a dishonest boss or a disreputable company may try to subvert state or federal payroll laws and deprive workers of the wages that they have earned. In these type of cases, it is very important not to decide to take the law into one’s own hands to right the scales of justice.

Remember that at this point you have the upper hand as the aggrieved party. Use all of the legal channels available to you to obtain your money. Those might include making a call to the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry at (651) 284-5070 to report the employer who is illegally withholding your earned wages.

You could also retain a Minnesota employment law attorney to handle your claim against your employer.

Source: FindLaw, “Minnesota Wage and Hour Laws,” accessed Nov. 17, 2017

Office Location

Law Office of Sivertson and Barrette, P.A.
1465 Arcade Street
St. Paul, MN 55106

Toll Free: 800-563-3094
Phone: 651-964-6301
Fax: 651-778-1149
St. Paul Law Office Map

Facebook
Twitter

FindLaw Network